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STATE OF HAWAII 
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

HARBORS DIVISION 
700 Fort Street 
Pier 11 Gallery 

Honolulu, Hawaii  96813-4808 
 

HONOLULU CRUISE TERMINAL TAXI PERMIT 
GENERAL CONDITIONS 

 
1. BINDING EFFECT: 

 
All persons issued Taxi Permits (hereinafter the “Permittee”) shall comply with Chapter 19-
44, Hawaii Administrative Rules (Relating to Services and Procedures, Charges, Tolls, and 
Fees), also known as Commercial Harbors and Tariff, issued by the Department of 
Transportation, State of Hawaii, implementation date, July 1, 1992 (hereinafter collectively 
the “Rules”) and shall comply with all of the applicable general conditions contained herein 
(hereinafter the “General Conditions”). 
 

2. PERMIT FEES:     Honolulu Harbor 
 

$137.50 per fiscal year  Taxicabs, Sedans, Station Wagons, Vans, capable of  
carrying up to 7 passengers     

  
3. PAYMENTS: 
 

Charges are on a fiscal year basis covering July to June from the date of issuance and shall be 
paid in full to the State prior to the start of the permitted period. Only cash or certified or 
local checks are accepted.  Make checks payable to:  Department of Transportation, 
Harbors Division.   
 

4. TERMINATION: 
 

The State of Hawaii, Department of Transportation, Harbors Division, (“State”) may cancel 
or terminate the Permittee’s permit for any reason upon thirty (30) days written notice sent 
by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the Permittee’s last known address.  The thirty 
(30) day notice period shall commence on the date the State sends the written notice of 
termination to the Permittee.  If the Permittee’s permit is not terminated for the Permittee’s 
failure to comply with applicable law, including without limitation, the Permittee’s failure to 
comply with any of the rules or the General Conditions, the State will refund the applicable 
pro-rata portion of the permit fees based on the date of the Permittee’s permit is terminated. 
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5. INSURANCE REQUIREMENT: 
 

An original certificate of automobile/vehicle insurance evidencing coverage for property 
damage, personal and bodily injury and public liability must be submitted to the State. 
The policy must be current, name the applicant as the insured, and cover the applicable 
vehicle.  The following are the minimum insurance requirements: 
 
     Property Damage  (Bodily Injury) 
     Liability Coverage  Liability Coverage 
     Per Occurrence  Per Occurrence 
 
Vehicle capable of carrying $25,000   $300,000 
up to 7 passengers 
 
Each insurance policy must (a) be issued by an insurance company or surety company 
authorized to do business in the State of Hawaii or approved in writing by the Director of 
Transportation; (b) the State of Hawaii is added as an additional insured as respects to 
operations performed for the State of Hawaii; It is agreed that any insurance maintained by 
the State of Hawaii will apply in excess of, and not contribute with, insurance provided by 
this policy; (c) the Permittee will immediately provide written notice to the State of Hawaii 
should any of the insurance policies evidenced on its Certificate of Insurance form be 
cancelled, limited in scope, or not renewed upon expiration in the Permittee’s insurance 
coverage, (notices should be mailed to 700 Fort Street, Honolulu, Hawaii 96813-4808);  
(d) cover all injuries, losses, or damages arising from, growing out of, or caused by any acts 
or omissions of the Permittee, its officers, agents or employees; and (e) be maintained and 
kept in effect at the Permittee’s sole expense throughout the term of this permit.  Upon each 
renewal, the Permittee shall furnish the State, without notice or demand from the State, an 
original certificate evidencing the required insurance. 
 
An original insurance binder will be accepted for up to thirty (30) days as proof of coverage.  
After that, a certificate will be required. 
 

6. INDEMNITY: 
 

The Permittee shall defend, hold harmless and indemnify the State, its officers, agents, and 
employees from and against any and all claims, demands, suits, actions, judgments, damages, 
liability, losses, costs and expenses, including, without limitation, claims for property 
damage, personal injury or death, arising out of or related to the Permittee’s use of State 
property, the Permittee’s operations under the Permittee’s permit or any act or omission of 
the Permittee relating thereto. 
 

7. VEHICLE REGISTER: 
 

Each Permittee must properly complete the attached vehicle register prior to receiving a 
permit.  The Permittee must be an authorized agent for the named entity, and each insurance 
policy must be issued to the entity or the Permittee, and cover all listed vehicles. 
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The State may require each Permittee to submit such other official documents including 
without limitation, driver’s licenses, business licenses, taxi licenses, PUC licenses, motor 
vehicle registrations, vehicle identification cards, and tax clearances, as the State deems 
necessary to verify any information in this permit or the application submitted in connection 
therewith. 
 

8. IMMEDIATE NOTIFICATION OF CHANGES: 
  

Each Permittee must immediately notify the State in writing of any changes to any 
information provided to the State in the Permittee’s permit application or this permit. 
 

9. NO PROPERTY RIGHT: 
 

Each Permittee acknowledges and agrees that any permit issued to said Permittee does not 
constitute a property right of any kind and that by issuing a permit, the State is only allowing 
the Permittee the privilege of operating within State property, subject to certain restrictions as 
may be imposed by the State, including, without limitation, the restrictions set forth herein. 
 

10. COMPLIANCE WITH LAWS: 
 

Each Permittee must comply with all applicable Federal, State, and County laws, statutes, 
ordinances, rules and regulations. 
 

11. DECALS: 
 

A decal will be issued to coincide with the expiration date of the permit.  No decal will be 
issued unless the Permittee has fully paid and satisfied its obligations under this permit. 
 
Place the decal on the passenger side of the front bumper of the authorized vehicle. 
Decals must be clearly visible. 
 
Replacement:  Worn or faded decals may be replaced free of charge, provided the original 
decal is returned.  When the Permittee changes vehicles, the charge is $27.50 per 
replacement decal for new vehicles.  In order to obtain the replacement decal, the Permittee 
must submit to the State the new registration or certificate or purchase covering the new 
vehicle, together with the unexpired decal. 
 
Decals are not transferable between vehicles.  The Permittee must purchase another decal if 
the original is lost, stolen, destroyed or damaged. 
 
Renewals:  Decals may be renewed beginning thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date. 
 

12. LIMITATION ON OAHU LOCATIONS FOR AUTHORIZED VEHICLES: 
 

Approved Taxi operations are allowed only at the Pier 2 Cruise Terminal area on the dates 
that cruise vessels are loading or unloading passengers.  Parking or stopping, including 
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loading and unloading to and from the vehicles, is allowed only in areas designated by the 
State. 
 

13. ENFORCEMENT: 
 

NO VEHICLE IS AUTHORIZED TO OPERATE ON STATE PROPERTY WITHOUT A 
CURRENT DECAL.  Vehicles operating at State-owned facilities without a proper decal will 
be subject to citation for such violation.   

 
14. MARITIME TRANSPORTATION SECURITY ACT:   

The Permittee, in accepting the Permit, acknowledges that pursuant to the Homeland Security 
Act (Pub.L.No.107-295, 116 Stat.2135), and the Maritime Transportation Security Act (46 
U.S.C.A. §70101, et al), the State’s duties include, among other things, the duty to safeguard 
persons, property, and port infrastructures from destruction, loss, injury, and from acts of 
sabotage or other causes of a similar nature.  The Permittee further acknowledges that the 
State, as the owner and operator of the State’s commercial harbors, must comply with all 
requirements under the Maritime Transportation Security Act (46 U.S.C.A. §70101, et al), 
and its successor statutes and implementing regulations (collectively, the “MTSA”).  The 
provisions of the MTSA are hereby incorporated by reference as though fully set forth 
herein.  The Permittee acknowledges and agrees that it and its agents, employees and invitees 
shall, to the extent applicable, abide by the requirements of the MTSA.  Furthermore, 
Permittee, its agents, employees and invitees, shall not obstruct, interfere with, or fail to obey 
the lawful command of, any State personnel in carrying out the duties required under the 
MTSA.  Any violation of the above conditions may be grounds to terminate, suspend, or 
cancel the Permit as set forth under paragraph 14 herein.   

 
All vehicles are subject to the Rules, and operators must obey State personnel and signs. 
 

 
I understand and agree to these requirements. 
 
 
___________________________________  __________________________________ 
Print Name      Signature 
 
Date________________ 
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