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9ot Questions?
DOE students: For further information regarding Hawaii's Graduated Licensing Program, please see your high school’s
driver education coordinator.

For additional information please see the following web links:

State of Hawaii Department of Transportation
http://hidot.hawaii i /safe-communities

griway

City & County of Honolulu
http://www.honolulu.gov

Hawaii County
http://www.hawaiipolice.com

Maui County
http://www.co.maui.hi.us/department/MotorVehicle/

Kauai County
hitp://www.kauai.gov
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For teen drivers ages 15% through 17 « Effective January 9,2006

Brochure design provided by State Farm Insurance®.




The new Hawaii law establishes a three-stage
graduated licensing program for drivers under
the age of 18. The program allows beginning
drivers to develop their driving skills over time
as they gain experience and maturity.

Key elements of the new “provisional” stage
include limits on unsupervised late-night
driving and the number of passengers allowed
during unsupervised driving.

Whny Hawaii Yeeds the
Qradmated, Licensinsy
Prsgpam

Motor vehicle crashes are the ieading cause of
death among U.5.teens. Crash rates for young
beginning drivers and their passengets are
particularly high. Sixteen year-old drivers have
higher crash rates than drivess of any other age,
including older teen drivers,

Because of their inexperience, beginning drivers
are |east able to handle hazardous situations. This,
combined with a lack of matutity and aggressive
driving behaviors, results in high crash rates.

Graduated licensing programs, already
working successfully in maest other states, have
resulted in fewer crashas, injuries, and fatalities
involving teen drivers.

The Inswmctional
Permit Phase
The person must:

- beat |east 15 years and 6 months in age
to acquire an instructional permit.

+ be in immediate possession of the permit
when driving a motor vehicle,

be seated next to a person who is at least
21 years of age and licensed to operate the
same type of motor vehicle, However,
between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 5:00
a.m., the supervising parent or guardian
must be seated next to the minor driver,

have all occupants wear their seat belts and
children under 4 years of age be properly re-
strained within a child safety seat in
compliance with Hawaii State [aw,

The permit:

is valid for one {1) year from thé date of
issuance; and

may be renewed for another one-year
period no sooner than 30 days before the
expiration date of the permit and no later
than 90 days after the expiration date of the
permit.

Failure to renew the instructional permit
within 30 days after the expiration date will
result in waiting 180 days before being eligible
for a road test.

The Provisional

Licemse Phase

A person may be granted a provisional license
to operate a motor vehicle if that person:

« is at least sixteen (16) years old, but under

the age of eighteen {18);

holds an instructional permit and has heid
that perrmit for at least 180 days and there
is no pending viclation that might result in
a suspension of revocation of that person's
instructional permit;

satisfactorily compietes a State certified
driver’s education course and possesses the

classroom and behind-the-wheel certifi-
cates; and

= successfully passes a road examination test,

The person granted a provisional license shall,
as a reguirement:

1. have in their immediate possession their
provisional driver’s license;

2. have all occupants wear their seat belts and
childrer under 4 years of age be properiy
vestrained within a child safety seat in
compliance with Hawaii State law;

3, Passenger Restrictions;
The provisional licensee driver SHALL NOT
TRANSPORT more than one person below
the age of eighteen (18), without being
accompanied by a licensed driver that is
the provisional licensee’s parent or guard-
ian, unjess that person is a househald
member,

4, Night-Time Driving Restriction:
The provisional ficensee driver SHALL
NOT DRIVE between 11:00 p.m.and 5:00
a.m., unless accompanied by either a
parent or guardian that is licensed to drive
the same type of motor vehicle and is
seated in the passenger seat beside the
licensee.

The person granted a provisional driver’s
license may drive between 11:00 p.m.and
5:00 a.m. without a licensed parent or
guardian in the motor vehicle only under
the following conditions:

A, Traveling to or from the jicensee’s place
of employment, where the operation of
motor vehide is necassary for that purpose.
The provisional licensee shall keep in his
or her possession a signed statement

from the empioyer containing the
employer's:
+ Name,

«  Address,
» Telephone number, and

= Verification of employment and work

hours.

B. Traveling to or from a school-authorized
activity, where the operation of a motor

vehicle is necessary for that purpose, and

the provisional licensee shall keep in his
or her possession a signed statement
from a parent or guardian containing
the parent’s or guardian’s:

= Name,
» Address,
« Tetephone number, and

+ Verification that the operation of the
maotor vehicle by the licensee is
necessary to travel to or from the
school-authorized activity;

provided that under A. and B. above, the
provisional licensee shall not transpert
more than one person under the age of
gighteen (18) between 11:00 p.m.and 5:00
a.m. without being accompanied by the
licensed parent or guardian of the provi-
sional licensee,

5. The provisional license shall expire on
the provisional licensee’s nineteenth (19th}
birthday,

Full Drivensy Licemse

A provisional licensee may be issued a full
driver’s ficense if the provisional licensee:

- has satisfactorily held the provisional
license for at least six {6) months;

+ has no pending viciation that might result
in a suspension of tevocation;

* Is at least seventeen (17) yeats old; and has
satisfactorily complied with all the require-
ments of Chapter 286, Hawaii Revised
Statutes,

£ .
For 1st violation of items listed in the Provi-
sional License Phase section, the provisional
license shall be suspended for a 3-month
period.

For 2nd or subsequent violations of items
listed in the Provisional License Phase section,
the provisional license shalt be revoked for a
6-month period.

If a provisional licensee is convicted of an
offense relating to the opetation of a mator
vehidle:

« Fora st conviction, the provisional license
shall be suspended or revoked for 6 months.
+ Fora 2nd or subsequent convictions, the
provisional license shall be revoked for one
year.

dttemtion AL Mimet
Applicamity

Effective January 9, 2006, pursuant to Act 72
of the Hawaii State Legislature, the State of
Hawaii will initiate a Graduated Provisional
Licensing Program, This means:

+ The minimum age to acquire a permit is
15% years old.

« All license exarninations and driver's educa-
tion requirements will remain in place.

+ Applicants between the ages of 15!

through 17, must hold a vaiid Hawaii
instructional parmit for a period of 180
days, instead of 90 days.

* You must be accompanied by a licensed

driver at least 21 years or older, instead of
18 during the instructional permit phase.
The licensed driver must be a parent or
guardian between the hours of 11:00 p.m.
and 5:00 a.m during the instructional
permit and provisional phases.

- Toreceive either a provisional license or full

driver's license you cannot have any pending
violations that may result in the suspension
or revocation of either yout instructional
permit or provisional driver's license.

+ Toobtain a fuil driver's license, you must

hold your provisional driver's license for at
ieast 6 months and be at jeast 17 years old.

» You have until your 15th birthday to convert

your provisional driver's license to a full
driver’s license. Your provisional driver’s
icense expires on your 19th birthday.

If you fail to convert your provisional
driver’s license by your 19th birthday, you
must reapply as a new applicant.

If your provisionat diiver’s license expiration
date is or a weekend or holiday for the
City/County, then YOU MUST CONVERT YOUR
PROVISIONAL DRIVER'S LICENSE to a full
driver’s license by the last working day prior
1o the expiration date.






