SUMMARY OF RECORDED MEETING

Date: Tuesday, July 30, 2024 Time: 10-11:30am

Place: Virtual using Microsoft Teams

or in person at 869 Punchbowl Street, 5th Floor Conference Room Honolulu, Hawaii

Members of the board or designees present:

One member to be appointed by the president of the senate and one member to be appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives, who shall chair the advisory committee annually on a	House of Representatives appointee	Kathleen Rooney
rotating basis The department of transportation's safe routes to school program coordinator		Tara Lucas
The deputy director of the department of transportation's highways division		Robin Shishido
One member representing the physical activity and nutrition section of the department of health's chronic disease prevention and health promotion division		Heidi Hansen-Smith
The superintendent of education		Tracy Okumura for Audrey Hidano
The co-chairs of the Hawaii climate change mitigation and adaptation commission		Leah Laramee for Russell Tsuji (Russell Tsuji present but stated that Leah can be representative) Mary Alice Evans
One member representing the Hawaii state	energy office	Christopher Yunker
One member representing the Hawaii state council on developmental disabilities		Sierra Whiteside
One member representing each county	City and County of Honolulu	Yamato Sasaki
agency with jurisdiction over	County of Hawaii	Jesse Domian
transportation	County of Kauai	Michael Moule
	County of Maui	Kurt Watanabe
One member representing an organization with a focus on bicycling to be appointed by the governor, pursuant to section 26-34, for a three-year term		Thomas Noyes
One member representing an organization with a focus on senior citizens and their families to be appointed by the governor, pursuant to section 26-34, for a three-year term		James Burke
One member representing an organization with a focus on public health and mobility to be appointed by the governor, pursuant to section 26-34, for a three-year term		Jessica Thompson

One member representing an organization with a focus on transportation equity and mobility to be appointed by the governor, pursuant to section 26-		Jeanne Torres
34, for a three-year term		
The chairs of the house of representatives	Senate	Senator Chris Lee
standing committee and the senate		
standing committee with primary		
jurisdiction over transportation, who shall		
serve as non-voting, ex-officio members		

Members of the board absent:

One member to be appointed by the president of the senate and one member	Senate appointee	pending	
to be appointed by the speaker of the			
house of representatives, who shall chair			
the advisory committee annually on a			
rotating basis			
One member representing an organization that understands the ways		pending	
families with young children navigate through the State to be appointed by			
the governor, pursuant to section 26-34, for a three-year term			
The chairs of the house of representatives	House of Representatives	Representative Chris	
standing committee and the senate		Todd	
standing committee with primary			
jurisdiction over transportation, who shall			
serve as non-voting, ex-officio members			

Motions and votes made by the board: none

Agenda items with timestamps:

- I. Call to Order (3:59)
- II. Roll Call (4:19)
- III. Old Business None (10:28)
- IV. New Business (10:33)
 - a. Committee Member Duties and Resources as per the Office of Information
 Practices and Hawaii State Ethics Commission. (10:35)
 - b. Presentation on Act 224 (2023) Safe Routes to School (12:15)
 - c. Presentation on the State Safe Routes to Schools program (24:20)
 - d. Discussion on schedule, calendar, and future meeting topics (33:48)
- V. Open Forum: Invitation to interested members of the public to be heard on matters not included on the agenda (1:28:01)

- VI. Announcements (1:28:25)
- VII. Adjournment (1:29:31)

Times when individual members entered or left the meeting:

Name	Join Time	Leave Time
Lucas, Tara YI	7/30/24, 9:49:42 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:48 AM
Domian, Jesse	7/30/24, 9:49:42 AM	7/30/24, 9:50:43 AM
Domian, Jesse	7/30/24, 9:56:26 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:30 AM
Yamato Sasaki	7/30/24, 9:56:46 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:37 AM
Kathleen Rooney	7/30/24, 9:56:58 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:39 AM
Jessica Thompson	7/30/24, 9:58:09 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:23 AM
Tracy Okumura	7/30/24, 9:58:12 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:24 AM
Tsuji, Russell Y	7/30/24, 9:58:32 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:27 AM
Hansen Smith, Heidi M	7/30/24, 9:59:33 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:28 AM
Jeanne Torres	7/30/24, 9:59:40 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:35 AM
Shishido, Robin K	7/30/24, 10:00:26 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:26 AM
Kurt Watanabe	7/30/24, 10:01:12 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:29 AM
Sierra Whiteside	7/30/24, 10:01:28 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:37 AM
Laramee, Leah J	7/30/24, 10:01:31 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:20 AM
Tommy Noyes	7/30/24, 10:01:36 AM	7/30/24, 10:05:31 AM
Yunker, Christopher	7/30/24, 10:01:46 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:37 AM
Sen. Chris Lee	7/30/24, 10:02:03 AM	7/30/24, 10:38:02 AM
James Burke	7/30/24, 10:03:10 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:30 AM
Michael Moule	7/30/24, 10:03:25 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:33 AM
Tommy Noyes	7/30/24, 10:05:42 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:37 AM
Evans, Mary Alice	7/30/24, 10:17:29 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:22 AM
Chris Lee	7/30/24, 10:36:21 AM	7/30/24, 11:28:29 AM