# **Safe Routes to Schools Advisory Committee** August 15, 2024

## **Meeting Minutes**

## I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 9:03 AM by Chair Kathleen Rooney.

## II. Roll Call

Chair Rooney conducted a roll call.

2.6 1			T = 0
Member requirement	Appointment detail(s)	Name	Present?
One member to be appointed	House of Representatives	Kathleen	X
by the speaker of the house of	appointee, chair for 2024-2025	Rooney	
representatives			
One member to be appointed	Senate appointee	Pending	
by the president of the senate			
The department of transportation's safe routes to school program		Tara Lucas	X
coordinator			
The deputy director of the department of transportation's		Robin Shishido	X
highways division			
One member representing the physical activity and nutrition		Heidi Hansen-	X
section of the department of health's chronic disease prevention		Smith	
and health promotion division	-		
The superintendent of education	•		Y
-		official designee	
The co-chair of the Hawaii	Chairperson, Department of	Russell Tsuji,	N
climate change mitigation and	Land and Natural Resources	official designee	
adaptation commission			
The co-chair of the Hawaii	Director, Office of Planning and	Leah Laramee,	X
climate change mitigation and	Sustainable Development	official designee	
adaptation commission			
One member representing the Hawaii state energy office		Christopher	X
	2,7	Yunker	
One member representing the Hawaii state council on		Sierra Whiteside	
developmental disabilities			
One member representing	City and County of Honolulu	Yamato Sasaki	X
each county agency with	County of Hawaii	Jesse Domian	X
jurisdiction over	County of Kauai	Michael Moule	
transportation	County of Maui	Kurt Watanabe	X
One member representing an	Appointed by the governor,	Thomas Noyes	
organization with a focus on	pursuant to section 26-34, for a	111011111111111111111111111111111111111	
bicycling	three-year term		
One member representing an	Appointed by the governor,	James Burke	X
organization with a focus on	pursuant to section 26-34, for a	Julies Burke	11
senior citizens and their	three-year term		
families	diffee your term		
Talliffics			<u> </u>

One member representing an organization that understands the ways families with young children navigate through the State	Appointed by the governor, pursuant to section 26-34, for a three-year term	Pending	
One member representing an organization with a focus on public health and mobility	Appointed by the governor, pursuant to section 26-34, for a three-year term	Jessica Thompson	X
One member representing an organization with a focus on transportation equity and mobility	Appointed by the governor, pursuant to section 26-34, for a three-year term	Jeanne Torres	
The chair of representatives standing committee with primary jurisdiction over transportation	Senate, serving as non-voting, ex-officio member	Senator Chris Lee	X
The chair of the senate standing committee with primary jurisdiction over transportation	House of Representatives, serving as non-voting, ex- officio member	Representative Chris Todd	

#### **III. New Business**

#### a. Proposal for Safe Routes to School Advisory Committee Secretary

Chair Rooney discussed the need for assistance with meeting minutes due to the high intensity of meetings and reporting requirements. She offered to make an AI transcript available, but requested volunteers to review the transcripts and ensure appropriate documentation. Several members volunteered to assist with the minutes on a rotating basis, including Leah Laramee, Jessica Thompson, and Yamato Sasaki. The committee did not take a formal vote, as this was not deemed necessary for this administrative task.

## b. Safe Routes to Schools Programs Presentation from the Hawaii Public Health Institute

Kealana Almeda, a senior at UH Manoa, offered a presentation on Safe Routes to Schools programs in other states. Kealana provided an overview of the history, key components, and case studies from Colorado, Oregon, and Minnesota. The committee engaged in discussion following the presentation, with questions and comments from members such as Senator Chris Lee and Yamato. Senator Chris Lee asked Kealana about the source of Oregon's \$15 million annual funding for their Safe Routes to School program. Kealana explained that the funding came from the state's "Keep Oregon Moving Act" passed in 2017. Chair Rooney inquired about the similarities and differences in how states approach Safe Routes to Schools programs. Kealana noted that she found mostly similarities, with states focusing on extensive stakeholder engagement and community input when developing their action plans and strategies. Yamato suggested establishing an annual fund that counties could access to support community-driven Safe Routes to School projects, rather than having to seek funding each time. Heidi proposed supporting administrative staff to help handle the committee's workload and responsibilities.

Safe Routes to Schools Advisory Committee – Meeting Minutes August 15, 2024
Page 3 of 3

### c. Approach to Fulfilling Legislative Mandates

Chair Rooney provided an overview of the committee's responsibilities under Act 244, SLH 2023, including developing a statewide plan, distributing funding, reviewing project proposals, and submitting an annual report. The committee discussed potential approaches, such as establishing an annual county funding allocation, providing administrative support, and prioritizing specific projects. No formal votes were taken, as this was an initial discussion to gather input.

#### IV. Open Forum

A member of the public, Bev, inquired about the protocol for public testimony and voting rights for proxies. Chair Rooney explained that the committee would prioritize input from members first, but would aim to allow public participation as time permitted.

#### V. Announcements

Chair Rooney noted that the committee would continue discussions on funding dispersal and project priorities at the next meeting. She also mentioned the possibility of inviting county Safe Routes to School programs and the Safe Routes to School Center to present at future meetings.

#### VI. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 10:01 AM.