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STATE OF HAWAII 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
HARBORS KAUAI DISTRICT 

Email: DOT.HAR-K@hawaii.gov 
Phone: (808) 241-3750 

 
NAWILIWILI CRUISE SHIP TERMINAL TAXI PERMIT 

GENERAL CONDITIONS 
 

Any person(s) issued Taxi Permits hereinafter referred to as the “Permittee” shall comply with 
Chapter 19-44, Hawaii Administrative Rules, Rules Relating to Services and Procedures, Charges, 
Tolls, and Fees, set forth by the State of Hawaii, Department of Transportation, Harbors 
Division, hereinafter collectively referred to as the “Rules”. The “Permittee” shall comply with 
all of the applicable general provisions hereinafter known as the “General Conditions” and the 
Open Taxi System guidelines contained herein. 

1. PERMIT FEES: Nawiliwili Harbor 
 
 $102.30 per fiscal year Taxicabs, sedans, station wagons, vans, any vehicle 

capable of carrying up to seven (7) passengers.  

2. PAYMENTS: 
 

Charges are based on a fiscal year term from July to June from the date of issuance and 
shall be paid in full to the State prior to the start of the permitted period. Checks, cashiers’ 
checks, and money orders may be made payable to: Department of Transportation, 
Harbors. Credit card payments can be made at https://harbors.ehawaii.gov/wf/index.html. 
A service fee of 5% plus a payment processing fee will be added to each credit card 
payment. 

3. TERMINATION: 
 

The State of Hawaii, Department of Transportation, Harbors, (“State”) may cancel or 
terminate the Permittee’s permit for any reason upon thirty (30) days written notice sent by 
certified mail, return receipt requested, to the Permittee’s last known address. The thirty 
(30) day notice period shall commence on the date the State sends the written notice of 
termination to the Permittee. If the Permittee’s permit is not terminated for the 
Permittee’s failure to comply with applicable law, including without limitation, the 
Permittee’s failure to comply with any of the rules or the General Conditions, the State will 
refund the applicable pro-rata portion of the permit fees based on the date of the 
Permittee’s permit is terminated. 

mailto:DOT.HAR-K@hawaii.gov
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4. INSURANCE REQUIREMENT: 
 

An original certificate of automobile/vehicle insurance evidencing coverage for property 
damage, personal and bodily injury and public liability must be submitted to the State. 
The policy must be current, name the applicant as the insured, and cover the applicable 
vehicle. The following are the minimum insurance requirements: 

 
 Property Damage 

Liability Coverage 
Per Occurrence 

(Bodily Injury) 
Liability Coverage 
Per Occurrence 

Vehicle capable of carrying 
up to 7 passengers 

$25,000 $300,000 

 
Each insurance policy must (a) be issued by an insurance company or surety company 
authorized to do business in the State of Hawaii or approved in writing by the Director of 
Transportation; (b) the State of Hawaii is added as an additional insured as respects to 
operations performed for the State of Hawaii; It is agreed that any insurance maintained by 
the State of Hawaii will apply in excess of, and not contribute with, insurance provided by 
this policy; (c) the Permittee will immediately provide written notice to the State of Hawaii 
should any of the insurance policies evidenced on its Certificate of Insurance form be 
cancelled, limited in scope, or not renewed upon expiration in the Permittee’s insurance 
coverage, (notices should be mailed to 700 Fort Street, Honolulu, Hawaii 96813-4808); 
(d) cover all injuries, losses, or damages arising from, growing out of, or caused by any acts 
or omissions of the Permittee, its officers, agents, or employees; and (e) be maintained and 
kept in effect at the Permittee’s sole expense throughout the term of this permit. Upon 
each renewal, the Permittee shall furnish the State, without notice or demand from the 
State, an original certificate evidencing the required insurance. 

An original insurance binder will be accepted for up to thirty (30) days as proof of coverage. 
After that, a certificate will be required. 

5. INDEMNITY: 
 

The Permittee shall defend, hold harmless and indemnify the State, its officers, agents, and 
employees from and against any and all claims, demands, suits, actions, judgments, 
damages, liability, losses, costs, and expenses, including, without limitation, claims for 
property damage, personal injury, or death, arising out of or related to the Permittee’s use 
of State property, the Permittee’s operations under the Permittee’s permit or any act or 
omission of the Permittee relating thereto. 
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6. VEHICLE REGISTER: 
 

The Permittee must be an authorized agent for the named entity, and each insurance policy 
must be issued to the entity or the Permittee and cover all listed vehicles. The State may 
require each Permittee to submit such other official documents including without 
limitation, driver’s licenses, business licenses, taxi licenses, PUC licenses, motor vehicle 
registrations, vehicle identification cards, and tax clearances, as the State deems necessary 
to verify any information in this permit or the application submitted in connection 
therewith. 

 
7. IMMEDIATE NOTIFICATION OF CHANGES: 

Each Permittee must immediately notify the State in writing of any changes to any 
information provided to the State in the Permittee’s permit application or this permit. 

 
8. NO PROPERTY RIGHT: 

Each Permittee acknowledges and agrees that any permit issued to said Permittee does not 
constitute a property right of any kind and that by issuing a permit, the State is only 
allowing the Permittee the privilege of operating within State property, subject to certain 
restrictions as may be imposed by the State, including, without limitation, the restrictions 
set forth herein. 

 
9. COMPLIANCE WITH LAWS: 

Each Permittee must comply with all applicable Federal, State, and County laws, statutes, 
ordinances, rules, and regulations. 

10. DECALS: 

A decal will be issued to coincide with the expiration date of the permit. No decal will be 
issued unless the Permittee has fully paid and satisfied its obligations under this permit. 

Place the decal on the inside of the front driver’s side window of the authorized vehicle. 
Decals must be clearly visible. No exceptions will be made. 

 
Replacement: Worn or faded decals may be replaced free of charge, provided the original 
decal is returned. When the Permittee changes vehicles, a charge will be required for the 
replacement decal for new vehicles. To obtain the replacement decal, the Permittee must 
submit to the State the new registration or certificate or purchase covering the new vehicle, 
together with the unexpired decal. 
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Decals are not transferable between vehicles. The Permittee must purchase another decal 
if the original is lost, stolen, destroyed or damaged. 

 
Renewals: Decals may be renewed beginning thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date. 

11. LIMITATION ON KAUAI LOCATIONS FOR AUTHORIZED VEHICLES: 
 

Approved Taxi operations are allowed only at their permitted location where the cruise 
vessel is unloading or loading passengers. Parking or stopping, including loading, and 
unloading to and from the vehicles, is allowed only in areas designated by the State. 

 
12. ENFORCEMENT: 

NO VEHICLE IS AUTHORIZED TO OPERATE ON STATE PROPERTY WITHOUT A CURRENT 
DECAL. Vehicles operating at State-owned facilities without a proper decal will be subject 
to citation for such violation. All vehicles are subject to the rules, and operators must obey 
State personnel and signs. 

13. MARITIME TRANSPORTATION SECURITY ACT: 

The Permittee, in accepting the Permit, acknowledges that pursuant to the Homeland 
Security Act (Pub.L.No.107-295, 116 Stat.2135), and the Maritime Transportation Security 
Act (46 U.S.C.A. §70101, et al), the State’s duties include, among other things, the duty to 
safeguard persons, property, and port infrastructures from destruction, loss, injury, and 
from acts of sabotage or other causes of a similar nature. The Permittee further 
acknowledges that the State, as the owner and operator of the State’s commercial harbors, 
must comply with all requirements under the Maritime Transportation Security Act (46 
U.S.C.A. §70101, et al), and its successor statutes and implementing regulations 
(collectively, the “MTSA”). The provisions of the MTSA are hereby incorporated by 
reference as though fully set forth herein. The Permittee acknowledges and agrees that it 
and its agents, employees and invitees shall, to the extent applicable, abide by the 
requirements of the MTSA. Furthermore, Permittee, its agents, employees, and invitees, 
shall not obstruct, interfere with, or fail to obey the lawful command of, any State 
personnel in carrying out the duties required under the MTSA. Any violation of the above 
conditions may be grounds to terminate, suspend, or cancel the Permit as set forth under 
paragraph 14 herein. 
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OPEN TAXI SYSTEM GUIDELINES 

This document sets forth requirements for those who wish to engage in and provide on-demand taxi 
services for the Nawiliwili Port Cruise Ship Terminal operations. 

 
Only those individuals who: (1) satisfy the Taxi Driver Qualification requirements; (2) agree to comply 
with and adhere to the Code of Conduct for Taxi Drivers; and (3) have motor vehicles which conform to 
the Taxi Vehicle Standards, as set forth herein, may participate in the provision of these services. Taxi 
vehicles are subject to security inspections, as required, to verify compliance. Permits may be rescinded 
at the sole discretion of the State of Hawaii Department of Transportation Harbors at any time for 
matters of non-compliance. 

TAXI DRIVER QUALIFICATIONS 
 

All individuals seeking qualification and authorization to operate a taxicab and provide on-demand taxi 
service at the Cruise Ship Terminal via an open-access taxi system, shall obtain or possess, and submit to 
DOT Harbors written evidence of all the following minimum qualifications or items: 

1. Be at least eighteen (18) years of age. 
 

2. Possess: (1) a valid motor vehicle driver’s license issued by the State of Hawaii; and (2) a valid taxi 
certificate and business license issued by the County of Kauai. 

 
3. Not have outstanding arrest warrants or criminal convictions pending for offenses committed while 

driving intoxicated or recklessly. 
 

4. Not be addicted to the use of drugs or alcohol. 

5. Be subject to background checks or clearances if required by Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Regulations and applicable statutes of the State of Hawaii. 

 
6. Be free of medical conditions that may render the driver unfit for the safe operation of a motor 

vehicle. 
 

CODE OF CONDUCT FOR TAXI DRIVERS 
 

While on duty and operating a taxicab to provide on-demand taxi service at the Cruise Ship Terminal via 
an open-access taxi system, all taxi drivers shall, at all times, comply with: (1) all applicable laws, 
statutes, ordinances, rules and regulations of the United States of America, State of Hawaii and County 
of Kauai pertaining to providing demand responsive taxi service at the Cruise Ship Terminal. 
(2) all applicable covenants, provisions, requirements, restrictions, stipulations, terms, and conditions of 
this Permit; and (3) all applicable Hawaii administrative rules of the Department of Transportation. In 
addition, all taxi drivers shall, at all times, while at the Cruise Ship Terminal, adhere to the following 
code of conduct: 
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1. Provide professional, courteous, and efficient ground transportation service to all passengers. 
 

2. Provide passenger and luggage assistance upon request. Although lifting is not required, each taxi 
driver shall also aid passengers using wheelchairs upon request. 

 
3. Ensure that all disabled individuals who are covered by the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 

are not discriminated against nor refused demand responsive taxi service by any taxi driver because 
of their disability. All taxi drivers who engage in or provides on-demand taxi service at the Cruise 
Ship Terminal via an open-access taxi system may not deny taxi service to an individual with a 
disability who can use taxi vehicles. It would be considered a discriminatory practice to refuse 
service to a customer/passenger because he or she is blind or used a wheelchair, if the wheelchair 
was one that could be stowed in the taxi vehicle and the customer/passenger could transfer to a 
vehicle seat. Further, it would be considered a discriminatory practice for a taxi driver to insist that 
a wheelchair user wait for a lift-equipped taxi van or another type of life-equipped vehicle if the 
disabled customer/passenger could be transported to his or her destination by an automobile. 

4. Remain with their taxicab at all times while at the designated taxi stands or at the Cruise Ship 
Terminal, except when the taxicab is in the designated taxi hold area. There shall be no loitering in 
the terminal area or sidewalks adjacent to the designated taxi stands. 

 
5. Maintain professional manner while waiting for passengers at the designated taxi stands (e.g., no 

sitting on the exterior of the vehicle, no gambling or playing other games, no littering, no use of 
coarse language, no sleeping in the vehicle, no physical or verbal acts of intimidation or violence, no 
liquor or drug use, no loud music, and no other activity deemed inappropriate). 

6. Present a professional, clean, and neat appearance, and shall, always, comply with the following 
personal hygiene and grooming standards: 

 
a. Hair shall be kept clean, combed, and trimmed. 

 
b. Facial hair (e.g., moustaches, beards, sideburns, etc.) shall be kept clean, and neatly trimmed 

and groomed. 

c. Face and body shall be kept free of dirt, and body odor shall be controlled so as not to be 
offensive to the public; and, 

 
d. Proper and daily oral hygiene shall be used. 

 
7. Comply with and satisfy the following dress code standards: 

 
a. Male taxi drivers shall wear shirts with collars (preferably made from Hawaiian print textile 

materials), full-length trousers, and socks with either dress or athletic shoes. 

b. Female taxi drivers shall wear shirts or blouses with collars (preferably made from Hawaiian 
print textile materials), full-length trousers or skirts of appropriate length, and dress or athletic 
shoes. 



PERMITEE – KEEP COPY REV 10/24 

Page 7 of 9 

 

 

 
c. Apparel considered unacceptable and prohibited by the State as working attire for taxi drivers 

include tank tops, T-shirts, jeans, shorts, jams, swim wear, shower shoes and slippers; and, 
 

d. No attire may bear overt commercial advertisements, offensive symbols, photographs, or 
messages. 

 
8. Follow proper taxicab operating procedures while providing on-demand taxi service to passengers 

at, and from the Cruise Ship Terminal. Unauthorized solicitation of customers while at the Cruise 
Ship Terminal is prohibited. 

 
9. While awaiting passengers, the taxi driver shall wait alone in the taxicab. Further, the taxi driver 

shall not refuse to provide on-demand taxi service to any customer, except under the following 
circumstances: (1) if the taxi driver has already been dispatched; (2) if the customer, in the opinion 
of the taxi driver, appears to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs; or (3) if the customer 
refuses to use the taxi and wants another taxi. 

10. Report the finding of lost or forgotten articles, belonging to passengers which are subsequently 
found in his or her taxicab, to cruise line or Harbors personnel, or contract security. 

 
11. Keep at all times in his or her taxicab a current map book that shows the location of all the streets, 

roads and highways, major hotels, and visitor destinations and attractions on the Island of Kauai. 
 

12. Not knowingly operate a taxicab that is in such an unsafe condition as to endanger passengers or 
property. Further, the wearing of headsets or earphones by any taxi driver while he or she 
operates a taxicab at, or from the Cruise Ship Terminal is prohibited; and, 

13. Comply with instructions issued by Security personnel with regards to: 
 

a. Taxi vehicle circulation path on roadways around the Cruise Ship Terminal; and 
 

b. Taxi vehicle staging sequence or queuing procedure while waiting for customers/passengers. 
 

TAXI VEHICLE STANDARDS 

In order to operate a taxicab and provide on-demand taxi service at, and from the Cruise Ship Terminal, 
all taxi drivers shall be required to provide evidence that his or her taxi vehicle complies with and 
satisfies all following taxi vehicle standards: 

 
1. Licensed by the appropriate governmental regulatory agency, operating in conformance with the 

requirements and procedures prescribed by such agency, and at all times, display a current safety 
check sticker and current evidence of licensing and registration by the applicable regulatory agency 
of the government. 

 
2. Be equipped with a taxicab meter which shall be in accordance with the terms and conditions as set 

forth by the State of Hawaii, Office of Weights, and Measures. The taxicab meter shall be mounted 
in a permanent manner; and in a position that is visible to all passengers. 
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3. Display in the interior of the taxicab the typical authorized fares to major destinations in the 

County of Kauai. 
 

4. Provide a seating capacity for at least five (5) passengers, including the driver. 

5. Be in safe mechanical, operating and damage-free condition, clean and acceptable in appearance 
and meet all of the requirements prescribed for taxicabs herein. 

 
6. Have an illuminated taxicab dome light mounted on the roof of the taxicab, in accordance with 

applicable ordinance or rule and regulation of the County of Kauai. 
 

7. Comply with the rules and regulations set forth by the Motor Vehicle Safety Office, Department of 
Transportation, State of Hawaii. 

8. On conventional passenger vehicles, there shall be a minimum of four (4) doors for ease of 
boarding and discharge of passengers. 

 
9. Mini-van type vehicles which are equipped with a right-side sliding door, or which are equipped 

with special seating and access provisions for disabled/handicapped persons may be equipped with 
three (3) doors. 

 
10. For passenger safety, all taxicabs shall be equipped with seat belts for mandatory use by all 

passenger at all times. 

11. All taxicabs shall be equipped with a working air conditioning system. The air-conditioning system 
shall be operable and turned on whenever the outside temperature reaches eighty (80) degrees or 
higher, or at the request of a passenger. 

 
12. All taxicabs shall be equipped with a working interior light in the passenger compartment. 

 
13. The trunk of all taxicabs shall be lined and contain only necessary items, such as a spare tire, tire 

jack and flashlight. The spare tire and tire jack shall be secured and concealed with an appropriate 
cover material. 

 
14. The exterior and interior of all taxicabs shall be maintained in a clean and damage-free condition. 

15. Harbor Taxi Permit shall be displayed on the inside of the front driver’s side windshield of all taxicabs. 
 

16. The exterior of all taxicabs shall comply with and satisfy the following appearance standards: 
 

a. The exterior paint shall be maintained free of oxidation or rust. 
 

b. The vehicle body shall be free of any noticeable sheet metal damage, dents, scratches, or 
marks that would give the impression that the taxicab is in a poorly maintained condition or 
that the taxicab’s appearance is in an unacceptable condition. 

c. Be kept clean from road dirt, mud, and grime; and 
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d. For all taxicabs originally equipped with wheel covers by the manufacturer, wheel covers shall 

be mounted in place on all four (4) wheels. 
 

17. The interior of all taxicabs shall comply with and satisfy the following appearance standards: 
 

a. Be kept clean and free of litter and offensive odors. 
 

b. The upholstery shall be kept intact, free of rips and tears and wiped clean on a daily basis; and 
 

c. The ashtrays shall be emptied whenever full. 
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KAUAI CRUISE TERMINAL TAXI PERMIT APPLICATION & AGREEMENT 
 

LICENSE 
NO. 

SERIAL NO. YEAR MAKE PAX NO. PERMIT 
TYPE 

DECAL NO. EXPIRES 

        

        

        

        

I certify, as the Permittee or authorized agent of the Permittee, that the Permittee shall be subject to and shall comply 
with the General Conditions, Open Taxi System Guidelines and Chapter 19-44, Hawaii Administrative Rules (Rules Relating to 
Services and Procedures, Charges, Tolls, and Fees), also known as the Commercial Harbors and Tariff and Chapters 19-41, 19-42 
and 19-43, Hawaii Administrative Rules. I further understand that falsification of any information submitted in connection with 
this permit will result in the immediate cancellation of this permit and all other permits issued by DOT Harbors. I also 
acknowledge that the Permittee shall be subject to the penalties set forth in Section 266-25, Hawaii Revised Statutes, for 
committing any of the described therein. Permits may be rescinded at the sole discretion of the State DOT Harbors for matters 
of non-compliance, and I will immediately relinquish any decal upon written notice from DOT Harbors. I further agree to 
security inspections of my taxi as required in the Open Taxi System Guidelines. THIS DECAL PERMITS PASSENGER PICK-UP ON 
CRUISE VESSEL DAYS ONLY AT PIER 2. 

 
Print Name:   Title:   

Address:   Email:   
 

Name of Company:   Driver’s Phone Number:   
 

Signature:   Date:   
 
 
FOR HARBORS USE ONLY 

Insurance Company  Insured Name:   
 
Policy Number    Policy Period:   
 
Insurance Coverage Limits: [   ] Each Occurrence    [   ] Combined Single Limit $ __________________ 

 
Up to 7 passengers: Bodily Injury: $300,000.00 [   ] Property Damage: $25,000.00 

Taxi:   $  Receipt No.:   

Sedan:  $   Date Issued:   

Total:  $   Issued By:    

APPROVED BY:     
HARBOR MASTER DATE 


	NAWILIWILI CRUISE SHIP TERMINAL TAXI PERMIT
	2. PAYMENTS:
	3. TERMINATION:
	4. INSURANCE REQUIREMENT:
	5. INDEMNITY:
	6. VEHICLE REGISTER:
	7. IMMEDIATE NOTIFICATION OF CHANGES:
	8. NO PROPERTY RIGHT:
	9. COMPLIANCE WITH LAWS:
	10. DECALS:
	11. LIMITATION ON KAUAI LOCATIONS FOR AUTHORIZED VEHICLES:
	12. ENFORCEMENT:
	13. MARITIME TRANSPORTATION SECURITY ACT:

	OPEN TAXI SYSTEM GUIDELINES
	KAUAI CRUISE TERMINAL TAXI PERMIT APPLICATION & AGREEMENT

	LICENSE NORow1: 
	SERIAL NORow1: 
	YEARRow1: 
	MAKERow1: 
	PAX NORow1: 
	PERMIT TYPERow1: 
	DECAL NORow1: 
	EXPIRESRow1: 
	LICENSE NORow2: 
	SERIAL NORow2: 
	YEARRow2: 
	MAKERow2: 
	PAX NORow2: 
	PERMIT TYPERow2: 
	DECAL NORow2: 
	EXPIRESRow2: 
	LICENSE NORow3: 
	SERIAL NORow3: 
	YEARRow3: 
	MAKERow3: 
	PAX NORow3: 
	PERMIT TYPERow3: 
	DECAL NORow3: 
	EXPIRESRow3: 
	LICENSE NORow4: 
	SERIAL NORow4: 
	YEARRow4: 
	MAKERow4: 
	PAX NORow4: 
	PERMIT TYPERow4: 
	DECAL NORow4: 
	EXPIRESRow4: 
	Print Name: 
	Title: 
	Address: 
	Email: 
	Name of Company: 
	Drivers Phone Number: 
	Date: 
	Signature1_es_:signer:signature: 


