

Agenda

MOA Stipulation 10B – Underpass Feasibility Study Queen Kaahumanu Highway Widening, Phase 2 Kailua-Kona, Hawaii

West Hawaii Civic Center, Council Chambers 74-5044 Ane Keohokalole Hwy, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740 Tuesday, July 25, 2017, 10:00 am – 2:30 pm

1.	Pule and Opening Remarks	10:00 – 10:10 am
2.	Overview and Focus for the Day	10:10 – 10:20 am
3.	Required Consultation with National Park Service to Identify Meeting Participants	10:20 – 10:30 am
4.	Terms and Intent of Stipulation 10B	10:30 – 10:45 am
5.	Design and Other Considerations	10:45 am – 1:00 pm
6.	Lunch (working)	12:00 pm – 1:00 pm
7.	Participant Questions and Input	1:00 – 2:00 pm
8.	Recap and Summary of Tasks	2:00 – 2:30 pm

Attachment 1

Stipulation 10B

MEMORANDUM OF AGREEMENT Among the ADVISORY COUNCIL ON HISTORIC PRESERVATION, FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION, and the HAWAI'I STATE HISTORIC PRESERVATION OFFICER Regarding the projects in the vicinity of the District of North Kona, Island of Hawai'i, State of Hawai'i which are known as the Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway Intersection Improvements for the Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park and the Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway Widening, Kailua to Ke'ahole

B. UNDERPASS FEABILITY STUDY. The HOOT shall conduct a feasibility study with the objective of facilitating safe pedestrian access across the Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway at the "Trail to Honokohau." The study will examine at-grade crossing locations, the installation of a pedestrian tunnel crossing, and the modification of existing culverts for pedestrian-bicycle use. The study shall seek examples and policies regarding use of existing pedestrian tunnels and modified culverts in Hawai'i and other States. Subsurface crossing(s) shall include provisions for a third party organization to take responsibility for maintenance, security and liability for the crossing(s) as has been the policy of HOOT for more than a decade. The HDOT shall identify and select a qualified independent third party to conduct the study. As part of the study, HDOT shall consult with NPS to identify community organizations who may be invited to participate in the feasibility study. Organizations that may be invited to participate include: signatories to this MOA, NHOs, Peoples Advocacy Trails Hawai'i (PATH), County of Hawai'i, local primary and secondary school officials, universities, community groups, the Royal Order of Kamehameha, and the Association of Hawaiian Civic Clubs. As part of the feasibility study the HDOT shall convene a community meeting that has as its objective the development of design guidelines for future Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway expansion projects that includes provisions for trail connectivity and pedestrian crossings under the Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway as well as paralleling the highway. The HDOT shall transmit the findings of the feasibility study (inclusive of any documents or written testimony from the community meeting above) to parties participating in the feasibility study prior to the expiration of this MOA.

Attachment 2 QK Ph 2 MOA STIPULATION 10B Underpass Feasibility Study Hawai'i Department of Transportation, Hawai'i District

Consultation List as of: July 2017

Community Organization / Individuals	Contact Name		Title
Project Related Parties		01.0.1	
1 FHWA	Meesa	Otani	Environmental Engineer
	Lisa	Powell	Transportation Engineer
	Richelle	Takara	Senior Transportation
2 HDOT	Donald	Smith	Engineer Deputy Asst Engineer
			(Designate)
	Scott	Urada	DOT Hwys
	Sterling	Chow	Deputy Asst Engineer
	Natasha	Soriano	DOT Hwys
	Deona	Naboa	DOT Hwys Archaeologist
Community Organizations and NHOs			
3 Association of Hawaiian Civic Clubs*	Annelle	Amaral	President
4 Historic Hawai'i Foundation	Kiersten	Faulkner	Executive Director
5 Kona Hawaiian Civic Club	Cynthia	Nazara	President
	Hannah	Springer	
6 La'i'Ōpua 2020	Во	Kahui	Executive Director
7 Makani Hou o Kaloko-Honokōhau	Isaac	Harp	
	Fred	Cachola	D'anata a
8 Nakoa Foundation	Abel	Aquino	Director
9 People's Advocacy Trails Hawai'i (PATH)*	Monica	Scheel	President Deced Marshar
10 Royal Order of Kamehameha, Chapter7 Kona, West	Franz Kuauhau Russ	Weber Paio	Board Member
Hawai'i, Hawai'i Island*			
	Nainoa	Perry	
11 No Alo Holo**	Kalani	Nakoa	Trails and Assass Specialist
11 Na Ala Hele**	Clement	Chang	Trails and Access Specialist
12 E Mau Na Ala Hele	Davis	Marcie	President
	Schaefer	Barbara	Board of Directors
13 Ruth Aloua**	Aloua	Ruth	
14 Office of Hawaiian Affairs	Keola	Lindsey	Compliance Monitoring Program
	Lauren	Morawski	Compiance Archaeologist, Advocacy
15 National Park Service			
Kaloko-Honokohau NHP	Bill	Thompson	Superintendent
Kaloko-Honokohau NHP	Tyler	Paikuli-Campbell	Cultural Resource Program Manager / Archaeologist
Kaloko-Honokohau NHP	Jeff	Zimpfer	Environmental Protection Specialist
Ala Kahakai National Historic Trail	Aric	Arakaki	Superintendent
Ala Kahakai National Historic Trail	Rick	Gmirkin	Community Archaeologist
Ala Kahakai National Historic Trail**	Alan	Brown	

QK Ph 2 MOA STIPULATION 10B Underpass Feasibility Study

Hawai'i Department of Transportation, Hawai'i District

Consultation List as of: July 2017

Community Organization / Individuals	Contact Name		Title
Pu'ukohola Heiau National Historic Site	Daniel	Kawaiaea	Superintendent
Advisory Council on Hitoric Preservation			
16 ACHP	Mary Ann	Naber	Sr Program Analyst/FHWA
			Liaison
State Historic Preservation Division			
17 SHPD	Susan	Lebo	Archaeology Branch Chief
	Amy	Rubingh	Archaeologist
County of Hawai'i			
18 Office of the Mayor	Harry	Kim	Mayor
19 Department of Environmental Management	William A.	Kucharski	Director
20 Department of Parks and Recreation	Charmine L.	Kamaka	Director
21 Department of Planning (West Hawai'i)	Michael	Yee	Planning Director
Primary and Secondary Schools			
22 Department of Education (DOE), Hawai'i District-	Art	Souza	Superintendent
Honoka'a-Kealakehe-Kohala-Konawaena			
23 Kahakai Elementary School	James	Denight	Principal
24 DOE, Kealakehe High School	Wildred F.	Murakami	Principal
25 DOE, Kealakehe Elementary School	Nancy	Matsukawa	Principal
26 Makua Lani Christian Academy High School	Nancy	Begley	Principal
27 West Hawai'i Explorations Academy	Heather	Nakakura	Director
28 Hawai'i Montesory School	Angela	Geldhof	Executive Director
29 Innovations Public Charter School	Jennifer	Hiro	Teacher Director
30 Holualoa School	Glenn	Gray	
Universities			
31 University of Hawai'i at Hilo	Donald O.	Straney	Chancellor
32 SECE, University of Hawai'i Community College,	Kenneth	Fletcher	Director
Pālamanui			
33 University of the Nations - Flags	Steve	Foth	Drector of Security and
· -			Transportation

Notes: *Denotes specifically identified parties in the MOA. **Names added by NPS.