Hawaii ranks number one for seat belt use in 2019Posted on Jul 10, 2020 in Highways News, Main, News
HONOLULU – Hawaii ranked number one in the nation for seat belt use in 2019, according to recently released data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). Hawaii was the only state to reach the 97th percentile, with a seat belt usage rate of 97.1 percent.
“Our high usage rate demonstrates Hawaii residents understand the importance of buckling up,” said Hawaii Department of Transportation Highways Deputy Director Ed Sniffen. “Let’s keep it up and pass on the message to buckle up every trip, every time.”
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the national “Click It or Ticket” campaign has been postponed to November. All motorists are reminded that enforcement of Hawaii’s seat belt and child passenger restraint laws is conducted year-round, day and night.
More information on Hawaii’s seat belt and child passenger restraint laws follows:
Know Hawaii’s Seat Belt Laws
- Hawaii’s universal seat belt law requires that all front and back seat motor vehicle occupants buckle up. Adults and children must use their seat belts and child passenger restraints at all times. The fine for unrestrained occupants on Oahu, Hawaii and Maui is $102, and the fine on Kauai is $112. Drivers will receive one citation for each unrestrained occupant in the vehicle.
- Hawaii’s child passenger restraint law requires children younger than 4 years of age to ride in a child safety seat. Children 4 through 7 years old must ride in a child safety seat or booster seat. Violators of the child restraint law are required to appear in court; and if convicted, are required to attend a four-hour class and may be assessed a penalty of $100 to $500.
 National Center for Statistics and Analysis. (2020, April). Seat Belt Use in 2019 — Use Rates in the States and Territories (Traffic Safety Facts Crash•Stats. Report No. DOT HS 812 947). National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.