Hawaii Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP)

The Hawaii Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP) is part of a national effort created by the Federal Highway Administration to provide local agencies with information and training programs to address the maintenance of local roadways and bridges.  The goal of LTAP is to foster a safe, efficient, and environmentally sound surface transportation system by improving skills and increasing knowledge of the transportation workforce and decision makers.

Vision

We, the Hawai’i Local Technical Assistance Program, will be a primary resource for enriching the knowledge, skills and competencies of the local and state work force and will improve the efficiency, effectiveness, safety and environmental quality of the Hawaii transportation system.

Mission

To cultivate a positive learning environment by developing and delivering a broad range of quality training, technology transfer, and information sharing through cooperative relationships that promotes best practices throughout the Statewide transportation system.

Focus Areas:

  • Safety
  • Workforce Development
  • Infrastructure Management
  • Value Delivery
  • Environmental Quality

Contact Information:

Mr. Casey Abe, Engineering Program Manager
State of Hawaii, Department of Transportation
Highways Division
Materials Testing and Research Branch
2530 Likelike Highway
Honolulu, Hawaii 96819

Tel: (808) 832-3405 Ext 105
Fax: (808) 832-3407
Casey.Abe@hawaii.gov

 

Hawaii Local Technical Assistance Program

Advisory Board

Michael Moule
Chief of Engineering
Engineering Division
Department of Public Works
County of Kauai
Phone No. (808) 241-4891
E-mail: mmoule@kauai.gov
Bryson Vivas
Civil Engineer I
Engineer Division
Department of Public Works
County of Kauai
Phone No. (808) 241-4884
E-mail: bvivas@kauai.gov

 
Clifford Chew
Construction Engineer
Programs & Project Development Team
Federal Highways Administration (FHWA)
Hawaii Division
Phone No. (808) 541-2308
E-mail: Clifford.Chew@dot.gov
Ben Ishii
Civil Engineer VII
Engineering Division
Department of Public Works
County of Hawaii
Phone No. (808) 961-8423
E-mail: Ben.Ishii@hawaiicounty.gov
Kason Pacheco
Civil Engineer IV
Engineering Division
Department of Public Works
Road Maintenance Division
County of Hawaii
Phone No. (808) 961-8931
E-mail: Kason.Pacheco@hawaiicounty.gov
Casey Abe
Hawaii LTAP Director
Materials Testing & Research Branch (HWY-L)
Highways Division (HWY)
Hawaii Department of Transportation (HDOT)
Phone No. (808) 832-3405 ext. 105
E-mail: Casey.Abe@hawaii.gov
Nolly Yagin
Engineering Services Section Head
Engineering Division
Department of Public Works
County of Maui
Phone No. (808) 270-7437
E-mail: Nolly.Yagin@co.maui.hi.us
Kristi Ono
Civil Engineer V
Engineering Division
Department of Public Works
County of Maui
Phone No. (808) 270-7745
E-mail: kristi.ono@co.maui.hi.us
Mark Kikuchi
Traffic Engineer V
Traffic Engineering Division
Department of Transportation Services
City and County of Honolulu
Phone No. (808) 768-8337
E-mail: mkikuchi1@honolulu.gov
Kyle Oyasato
Planning Engineer
Division of Road Maintenance
Department of Facility Maintenance
City and County of Honolulu
Phone No. (808) 768-3697
E-mail: koyasato@honolulu.gov


As of 4/3/2018

Request for Training:

To request training, Local Public Agencies (LPA) should complete the attached “Hawaii LTAP Request for Training and/or Assistance” form and email it to Casey.Abe@hawaii.gov or mail to:

Hawaii DOT, Highways Division
Materials Testing and Research Branch
2530 Likelike Highway
Honolulu, Hawaii 96819

Request Form

Background on LTAP