COVID-19 ID FAQs

Posted on May 7, 2020 in
The following is a Frequently-Asked-Questions (FAQs) discussion on the State of Hawaii’s COVID-19 emergency procedures as it relates to non-commercial driver’s license, instructional permit, and state identification cardholders.  The temporary interim procedures established is in accordance with the Governor’s (First) Supplementary to the Emergency Proclamation signed on March 16, 2020 and subsequent supplementary proclamations relating to the COVID-19 Emergency that temporarily suspend specific Hawaii Revised Statutes and Hawaii Department of Transportation Administrative Rules.  The most recent supplementary proclamation, Fourteenth Proclamation, extends the emergency period end date through November 30, 2020.          

(The temporary interim procedures conveyed in the FAQs are subject to change.  Please continue to check this website for the latest revisions.)

 

(Revised October 14, 2020)

   
  1. Am I still allowed to legally drive my motor vehicle if my non-commercial driver’s license (DL) or instruction permit (IP) has expired?
DL and IP holders in good standing that have a DL or IP that expires between March 16, 2020 thru November 29, 2020, may continue to legally drive the same licensed class of motor vehicle (e.g., cars, motorcycles, mopeds, etc.) through November 30, 2020.  
  1. What will happen to my expired non-commercial driver’s license (DL) or instruction permit (IP) that was extended during this emergency period once the Hawaii COVID-19 emergency proclamation has ended?
You must renew your DL or IP no later than November 30, 2020.  Once the Hawaii COVID‑19 emergency period has ended on November 30, 2020, your DL or IP will no longer be valid to legally drive a motor vehicle on public roads.  
  1. My driver’s license (DL) or instruction permit (IP) expires right after the emergency period ends on November 30, 2020. What happens if I cannot get an appointment in time to renew my DL or IP?
You will no longer be licensed to legally operate a motor vehicle on public roadways.  Please contact your county DMV to make the appropriate arrangements for an appointment.  (See the following link to get the county contact information: https://hidot.hawaii.gov/driverslicense/ )  
  1. What happens to my State Identification card (SID) if it expires during the emergency period of March 16, 2020 thru November 30, 2020?
SIDs that expires between March 16, 2020 thru November 29, 2020, are considered to be valid until the Hawaii COVID-19 emergency period has ended on November 30, 2020.  
  1. My expired driver’s license (DL) or instruction permit (IP) was granted a waiver of the expiration date. When I renew my DL or IP, will I get issued my renewed DL or IP with any additional days? 
No.  A renewed DL will expire on your birth date and the new expiration period will be calculated based on when your DL originally expired.  A renewed IP will expire 1-year from the original IP expiration date.  
  1. Will I be able to use my qualified motorcycle rider education course completion certification to waive the Hawaii skills test if it expired during the Hawaii COVID-19 emergency?
Yes, the 90-day course completion waiver period for taking the Hawaii skills test for those who have successfully completed the State certified Hawaii Edition of the MSF Basic Rider Course that expires between March 16, 2020 through November 29, 2020 will be accepted as a valid waiver through November 30, 2020.  
  1. During the Hawaii COVID-19 emergency period of March 16, 2020 through November 30, 2020, will I be charged a penalty for renewing (or reactivating) my driver’s license after ninety (90) days from the driver’s license (DL) expiration date?
If the ninety-day no-fee reactivation (renewal) period ended during the Hawaii COVID-19 emergency period, the late penalty fee is waived and you may reactivate (renew) your DL without having to pay any late penalty fee as long as the reactivation (renewal) is completed during the Hawaii COVID-19 emergency period.  After the Hawaii COVID-19 emergency period ends, the late penalty fee will be determined based on the DL original expiration date.  
  1. During the Hawaii COVID-19 emergency period of March 16, 2020 through November 30, 2020, will I be able to reactivate and renew my driver’s license after one-year has passed from the driver’s license (DL) expiration date?
If the one-year reactivation (renewal) period ended during the Hawaii COVID-19 emergency period, you may reactivate (renew) your DL even if more than one-year has passed without having to retake the written test and road test as long as the reactivation (renewal) is completed during the Hawaii COVID-19 emergency period.  The DL will not be reactivated (renewed) after the one-year period ends once the Hawaii COVID-19 emergency period has ended and an application for an instruction permit will be required that would also require passing the written test and road test before being issued a driver’s license.  
  1. During the Hawaii COVID-19 emergency period of March 16, 2020 through November 30, 2020, will I be able to renew my instruction permit after 90-days have passed from the instruction permit’s (IP) expiration date?
If the 90-day renewal period ended during the Hawaii COVID-19 emergency period, you may renew your IP even if more than 90-days have passed without having to retake the written test as long as the renewal is completed during the Hawaii COVID-19 emergency period.  The IP will not be renewed after the 90-day period ends once the Hawaii COVID-19 emergency period has ended and an application for a new IP will be required that will also require a written test.  
  1. I lost my State identification card. Will I be able to order a duplicate State identification card by mail? 
Yes, during the Hawaii COVID-19 emergency period, you will be able to order an exact duplicate of your State identification card (SID) by mail (or online) if your county provides this service.  Contact your county or visit your county’s website for information on what forms and payment are required when ordering a duplicate SID by mail (or online).  The replacement SID will be an exact duplicate and no changes to any information is allowed when ordering the duplicate by mail (or online).  A REAL ID compliant SID with the star-marking will not be issued if the required documents have not already been presented to the county office in-person.  The card will be mailed to your address on file.

Did this answer your question?