Child Passenger Safety

Child Passenger Safety Week: September 17 – 23, 2023

National Child Passenger Safety Week is September 17-23, 2023, and the Hawaii Department of Transportation (HDOT) wants to make sure your keiki is in the right seat! The week is dedicated to educating parents and caregivers about the importance of correctly choosing, installing, and using car seats, booster seats, and seat belts.

Car Seat Check Events

In-Person:

September 16

Oahu – 10:00 A.M – 2:00 P.M. at the Waianae Mall at 86-120 Farrington Highway, Waianae, HI 96792. For more information, contact Ruby Rellin Email: [email protected] or call (808) 697-3548.

September 17

Hawaii Island – 9:00 A.M. – 12:00 P.M. in the Target parking lot in Kona at 74-5455 Makala Blvd, Kailua Kona, HI 96740. For more information, contact Torey Keltner at the Hawaii Police Department Phone: (808)961-2226.

Hawaii Island – 9:00 A.M. – 12:00 P.M. in Hilo on 307 E Makaala Street, Hilo Hawaii 96720. For more information, contact Torey Keltner at the Hawaii Police Department Phone: (808)961-2226.

September 23 – National Car Seat Check Day

Maui – 10:00 A.M – 4:00 P.M in Maui Marketplace on 270 Dairy Road, Kahului, HI 96732. For more information, contact the Maui Police Department at (808)244-6391.

Oahu – 10:00 A.M – 1:00 P.M. at the Waipio Shopping Center on 94-1040 Waipio Uka Street Waipahu, Hawaii 96797. For more information, contact Lisa Dau at KIPC Phone: (808) 527-2588; Email: [email protected]

For More Information:

Call anytime to make an appointment for car seat check, call 808-527-2588. For more information on child car seat safety and Hawaii’s updated child safety seat laws, visit the Keiki Injury Prevention Coalition (KIPC) at http://kipchawaii.org/car-seat-safety/

Download the new Birth to Booster Brochures in:

English:  BirthToBoosters-Brochure2023

Hawaiian: Hawaiian_BirthToBoosters-Brochure2023-final

These brochures are also available in the following languages:

Ilocano
Tagalog
Japanese
Mandarin
Cantonese
Spanish
Korean
Vietnamese
Samoan

Please contact Christy Cowser at christy.m.cowser@hawaii.gov if you would like a digital PDF copy emailed to you.

General Information:

In keeping up with these American Academy of Pediatrics recommendations, Hawaii’s child safety seat law have been updated. Infants under 2 years old must be properly restrained in a rear-facing car seat with harness. Keiki 2 years old but under 4 must be properly restrained in a rear-facing or forward-facing car seat with harness. Keiki 4 years old but under 10 must be in a child passenger safety seat or booster seat unless the child is over 4 feet 9 inches tall. All children in a motor vehicle must be properly restrained.

Child Safety Seats Types

Rear-Facing:

  • Always read instructions for both the car seat and vehicle for proper installation.
  • Keep children in a rear-facing car safety seat as long as possible, until child meets the height or weight maximum of the seat (minimum of 2 years of age).
  • Harness straps should be routed through slots that are at or below the child’s shoulders.
  • Keep harness straps snug (should not be able to pinch harness at shoulders).
  • Place chest clip at armpit level.
  • Never put a rear-facing seat in the front seat with an active airbag.
  • Recline car seat according to the level indicator on the car seat.
  • Thread vehicle belt or LATCH anchor strap through rear-facing belt path.
  • Never leave baby alone in and around vehicles.

Forward-Facing with Harness:

  • Always read instructions for both the car seat and vehicle for proper installation.
  • Keep children in a forward-facing car safety with a harness seat as long as possible, until child meets the height or weight maximum of the seat (minimum of 4 years of age).
  • Harness straps should be routed through slots that are at or above the child’s shoulders.
  • Keep harness straps snug (should not be able to pinch harness at shoulders).
  • Place chest clip at armpit level.
  • Thread vehicle belt or LATCH anchor strap through forward-facing belt path.
  • Use the Top Tether according to the instructions.
  • Never leave a child alone in and around vehicles.

Booster seats:

  • Always read instructions for both the booster seat and vehicle for proper use.
  • Children should ride in the back seat until at least the age of 13.
  • Always use the shoulder and lap belt.
  • Shoulder belt should be across the chest and lap belt should be low across the hips.
  • Never allow the child to place the shoulder belt under the arm or behind the back.
  • Use a high-back booster seat if the vehicle does not have a head restraint.
  • Never leave a child alone in and around vehicles.

Seat Belts:

  • Most children need to ride in a booster seat until age 10-12 years (at a minimum of 9 years old).
  • Children should ride in the back seat until at least the age of 13.
  • The child must sit back all the way with the back against the vehicle seat.
  • The child’s knees must bend comfortable over the seat cushion.
  • The shoulder belt must fit comfortably across the shoulder and chest (never on the neck).
  • The lab belt needs to be worn low across the hips (never on the stomach).
  • The child needs to sit this way for the entire trip.

A Hawaii State tax credit of $25 per year applies to the purchase of a booster or child safety seat.

 

Last updated on September 13, 2023