Click It or Ticket
No matter what type of vehicle you drive, one of the safest choices drivers and passengers can make is to buckle up.
As you head out around the Memorial Day holiday, you’ll likely see more law enforcement on the roads as part of Click It or Ticket. This campaign, from May 22 – June 4, reminds drivers and their passengers of the importance of buckling up and the legal consequences – including fines – for not wearing a seat belt.
In an effort to have motorists and passengers better protect themselves in the event of a motor vehicle crash, police statewide continue their efforts to issue citations to those violating the state seat belt and child passenger restraint laws. The cost of a ticket for not buckling up is $102 on Oahu, Maui and Hawaii, and $112 on Kauai.
Hawaii’s universal seat belt law requires that all front and back seat motor vehicle occupants buckle up. Adults and children must use their seat belts and child restraints at all times. The child passenger restraint law requires children from birth through the age of ten years old to ride in an appropriate child safety seat or a booster seat when traveling in a motor vehicle. Violators could face fines of $100.00 or more, be required to attend a driver’s education class and pay additional surcharges.
Click It. Don’t Risk It.
For more information regarding child safety seats and the law, please click the link: Child Passenger Safety
Last updated on May 17, 2023